Innovation Grants: Promoting Student Success


Beth Horner presents a check to SPC Foundation Chairman Ken Cherven to support the Innovation Grants Initiative. Wells Fargo is one of

several sponsors of the program.

Thanks to the generous support of corporate and individual sponsors, the Foundation is increasing funding for its Innovation Grants Initiative for the second straight year. The program provides financial resources of up to $3,500 to faculty and staff to implement programs that broaden the scope of the curriculum, deepen the college experience and improve student achievement.  This year the Foundation will award close to $75,000, up from $50,000 last year. Along with the growth in funding, the number of awards will increase this year as well.


“We are pleased to be able to fund 24 grants this year that represent a broad cross-section of disciplines across the college’s campuses,” said Foundation Innovations Grants Committee Chair Steven Shepard.  A selection committee, comprised of representatives of the college and the community, reviewed each of the grant applications and made the selections. This year’s recipients are:


Sara BrzezinskiSandra Campbell 

Lynn Carpenter


Dr. Eric Carver


Dr. Meg Delgato


Jenica Ibarra, Jacqui

Cash and Melanie Paden


Dr. Ramona Kirsh


Amy Krueger


Dr. Monica Lara


Chris Lumia, Carla

Rossiter and Andrea Kelly


Evelyn Madera


Chad Mairn


Dr. Raymond Menard

Mark MatthewsDr. Michelle Osovitz, Dr. Shannon McQuaig, Dr. Erin Goergen and Dr. Monica Lara 

Nicolle Panuthos


Sheryl Peterson


Diane Robinson and Maria Smisek


Anne Ryan


Dr. Kathy Siegler


Dr. Kevin Stanley and Nicolle Panuthos  


Aimee Stubbs


Li-Lee Tunceren


Kim Wolff


Read more about the selected projects, please visit Innovation Grants.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *